The Insane

10/14/2020

I saw Jesus singing today
His salvation shivering
In the cold and the chill
His tent propped across
A shiny shopping cart
I feel his hypnotizing eyes
Like a charmed cobra
Daring me to look his way

He was sitting in full lotus
Playing a Tibetan brass bowl
Soaking wet in the chanting rain
Reminding me of the Buddha
It’s a circus sideshow everyday
As I ride by hazy Scobert Park
The drug addled and starving
Mixing with the mentally ill

Man can live just fine here
On bread, grass, and needles
Somedays overzealous cops
Harass him and his followers
You don’t have to go home
But you can’t stay here
The officer says with a smirk
Knowing that here is his place

It’s a crime not having a roof
Yet the ones that take them
Go unpunished and praised
Some days he smiles at me
As I bike past riding to my job
He reminds me of Diogenes
The Alexander the Great in me
Knows I’d be him if I wasn’t me

“At least they know their crazy”
I think to myself as I go to work,
With the rest of the insane


Words and Photo by Cara Feral

2 Responses to “The Insane”

  1. AJMcGregor said

    I wonder what he’d think if he knew he’d inspired a brilliant young poet to write a poem about him. It’s probably been a long time since he felt like he mattered to anyone. There are so many tragic people in the world. I love the last three lines in particular.

    Liked by 1 person

    • He’s quite unique. I have never talked to him but I respect his idiosyncrasies. He throat sings, and plays the Tibetan singing bowls. He also has bells over his tarp. I think he probably is a Buddhist or another Eastern Religion. If I ever get a chance to talk to him I’d love to know more about him. I haven’t seen him this week though. I hope he is ok. Anyways, thanks for your beautiful comment!!!

      Like

Leave a comment

Ms. C. Loves

If music be the food of love, play on✨

Tafur

Property Maintenance

Lance Dean

Consider this your trigger warning ...

purplepeninportland

Sharing Poetry and Hugs

Stopdraggingthepanda

between here and there lies the inbetween

ARBIND KUMAR BLOG

arbindkumar475151597.in

Gradina Magica

Fii schimbarea pe care vrei sa o vezi in lume!

Learning with Life

A learner for life….wants to live fully….destination matter so does the journey…every movement to feel alive…and die with peace in eyes…being me…

I didn't have my glasses on....

A trip through life with fingers crossed and eternal optimism.

everyday amazing

spreading good cheer, fun & love for life

Krista McGuire

Health | Wellness | Motherhood

SoundEagle 🦅ೋღஜஇ

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

IN YOUR DREAMS POETRY

By JMACTHEDREAM

Poetry on a Canapé

A journey through Jean-Jacques Fournier's poetry

Just Poetry

and everything else...

The Coop: A Poetry Cooperative

April Editor, Caryn Mirriam-Goldberg